Ireland Deaf Prepare for European Championship Finals


The Ireland Deaf Men’s Football team are in the final preparation stages for next months 2011 European Deaf Football Championship Finals in Denmark. The Irish lads have been drawn in a tough group containing tournament favourites Russia, hosts Denmark and dark horses Belgium.

The stakes are high for the Irish lads who are widely regarded as one of the top deaf footballing sides in the world. Indeed Ireland impressed at the previous European finals in Portugal 2007, securing a 3rd place finish in the process.

Ireland Deaf Men’s football director Sean Herlihy is looking forward to the tournament, ‘the lads have been working hard and are on a good run of form – undefeated for almost 2 years and with good performances in qualifying. We are under no illusions about how tough the competition will be with the 12 top European nations in attendance but we will give it our best shot and expect to contend strongly for silverware’.

The Irish squad has a useful blend of seasoned campaigners mixed with exciting youngsters. Captain Darren Dunne plays for Arsenal Deaf FC whilst players like record goalscorer Joseph Watson, Richard Dougherty and Roy McKee have all played at the top tier of league of Ireland/Irish league football. Flying winger Andrew Wynne will also have a big part to play whilst teenagers Sean Young, Kevin Dudley and Jason Maguire are exciting up and coming prospects in what is a strong squad with fierce competition for places.

The Ireland deaf football team would like to thank the Irish Deaf Sports Association, the Irish Sports Council and the FAI for all their continued hard work in supporting and developing deaf football which adds tremendous value in improving life quality for young deaf footballers. The squad would also like to express its appreciation to Bewleys Hotel Dublin airport for its sponsorship and use of their excellent facilities.

Irish Squad

European Deaf Football Championship 2011 in Denmark

  • Michael Walsh (Dungarvan United F.C, Waterford)
  • Roy Keating (St Vincents DFC, Dublin)
  • Damien McMahon (St Vincents DFC, Dublin)
  • Richard Dougherty (Queens University FC, Belfast)
  • Roy McKee (Belfast Deaf United FC, Belfast)
  • Noel O’Donnell (Bonagee United FC, Donegal)
  • Darren Dunne (St. John’s Arsenal DFC, London, UK)
  • Andrew Wynne (Mellows Boys FC, Dublin)
  • Eamon Byrne (St Vincents DFC, Dublin)
  • Brian Babb (Belfast Deaf United FC, Belfast)
  • Joseph Watson (Waterford Crystal F.C, Waterford)
  • Mark Sinclair (Doncaster DFC)
  • Sean Young (Malahide United, Dublin)
  • Kevin Dudley (Shamrock Rovers FC, Dublin)
  • Stuart Foy (St Vincents DFC, Dublin)
  • Bobby McAra (Tycor F.C, Waterford)
  • Enda Dunne (Ridge Ranger, Carlow)
  • Eoin Burns (UCC, Cork)
  • Jason Maguire (St Vincents DFC, Dublin)
  • Stephen Millar (Glencastle Sparta)

Management Team

Seán Herlihy IDSA Director of Football
Rino Giglione/Thomas Coyle Joint Managers
Geoffrey Foy Assistant Manager
Jamie Wilson/Reggie Dornan Team Coaches
TBC Physio

To keep up to date, please check out Irish Deaf Sport Association website and Facbeook